Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Want to save this page for later?


Press Release

Call for Submissions: 2019 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards

Maya Lindsay
Published Date:
Jan 11, 2019

For more than 30 years, the New York State Society of CPAs (NYSSCPA) has recognized the best business and financial reporting through its Excellence in Financial Journalism (EFJ) Awards.

All business and financial journalists, editors, and authors are welcome to join the ranks of EFJ winners from national news outlets such as ProPublica, Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg, Crain’s New York Business and local reporters from regional organizations such as Miami Herald and The Real Deal, by submitting their work to the 2019 NYSSCPA EFJ Awards.

Broadcast, print, radio and online news organizations and reporters can submit financial news stories that were published, posted or aired between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2018. Business book authors and publishers can also enter this nationwide contest. Current college students are also eligible to apply in the NextGen category.

The 2019 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards consists of 13 awards in 10 categories. Entries can be submitted for one or more of the awards, in line with the topic and format. The categories are:

- Audio: Small and Medium/Large Media
- Enterprise
- General Reporting
- Visual Design
- Local
- Opinion
- Public Service
- Video: Small, Medium, and Large Media
- NEW! 
NextGen Award
- Excellence in Financial Journalism Book Award

Each entry receives full consideration by a select panel of judges, composed of CPAs and financial journalists. All entries will be scored according to three parameters: Accuracy of reporting; Readability, clarity and style; and Effectiveness and impact.

All entries must be received by 11:59 p.m., March 29, 2019. Entry fees are $75 for the first submission and $50 for each subsequent entry. The NextGen Award initial entry fee is $20. Any additional NextGen submissions from the same contestant are $10. The annual EFJ Awards Luncheon, at which winners are honored, will be held June 2019 in New York City.

Go to for more information, additional rules and entry submission. For all other inquiries, please contact NYSSCPA Assistant Communications Manager, Maya Lindsay, at 212.719.8350 or send an email to