Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Official 2016–2017 Nominating Committee Report

January 14, 2016

OFFICERS: to hold office for one year, from June 1, 2016:

Click here for the biographies of the 2016-2017 Officer and Board of Directors Nominees.

F. Michael Zovistoski automatically succeeds Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., as President in accordance with Article VIII, Paragraph 5 of the Bylaws.
Harold L. Deiters III
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP
to succeed
F. Michael Zovistoski

Vice Presidents


Gregory J. Altman
Health Sciences Charter School
to succeed Christopher G. Cahill
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Susan M. Barossi
PKF O’Connor Davies

to succeed
Jennifer R. George
Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP
Anthony S. Chan
CA Global Consulting Inc.
to succeed
Stephen T. Surace
Adjusters International Inc.
John S. Shillingsford
Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.
to succeed
Michael M. Todres
Todres & Company, LLP
John J. Lauchert
Horizon CFO LLC

to succeed

John J. Lauchert
Horizon CFO LLC

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE: to hold office for three years, from June 1, 2016:

Sol S. Basilyan
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

to succeed

Jeffrey F. Allen
EisnerAmper LLP

Salvatore A. Collemi
Collemi Consulting & Advisory Services, LLC
to succeed
Anthony S. Chan
CA Global Consulting Inc.
Christopher G. Cahill
Deloitte & Touche LLP
to succeed Jack F. Craven
John F. Craven, CPA, LLC

Renee Rampulla
Rampulla Advisory Services, LLC

to succeed

Barbara L. Montour
St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Michael M. Todres
Todres & Company, LLP

to succeed

Mark Weg
Daszkowski, Tompkins, Weg & Carbonella, P.C.

DIRECTORS AS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES: to hold office for three years, from June 1, 2016:

Mid Hudson:
Tracey J. Niemotko
Mount Saint Mary College

to succeed

Tracy D. Tarsio
Day Seckler LLP


Kevin P. O’Leary
Marvin and Company

to succeed

Beth Van Bladel
BvB Solutions


Edward F. Esposito
Edward F. Esposito, CPA/ABV, CFE

to succeed

Mark M. Ulrich
St. John’s University
Mitchell A. Davis
Grassi & Co.
to succeed

Michael E. Milisits
Hunter Group CPA LLC 


Brian M. Reese
Fitzgerald, DePietro & Wojnas CPAs, P.C. 

to succeed

David J. Wojnas
Fitzgerald, DePietro & Wojnas CPAs, P.C.

All of the nominees have consented to serve if elected.

Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., automatically becomes Director for one year as Immediate Past President in accordance with Article VI, Paragraph 1 of the Bylaws.

DIRECTORS (provided the above nominees are duly elected):

Terms expiring in 2017:

Gregory J. Altman, Health Sciences Charter School
Paul E. Becht, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP
Susan M. Barossi, PKF O’Connor Davies
Anthony S. Chan, CA Global Consulting Inc.
Harold L. Deiters III, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP
Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., Tronconi Segarra & Associates LLP
Rosemarie Giovinazzo-Barnickel, Rosemarie Giovinazzo-Barnickel, CPA
Elizabeth A. Haynie, Katz, Bernstein & Katz, LLP
Jan C. Herringer, BDO USA, LLP
Jean G. Joseph, Joseph Tax & Consulting Services LLC
John J. Lauchert, Horizon CFO LLC
Kevin Matz, Kevin Matz & Associates PLLC
Jacqueline E. Miller, Pinto, Mucenski, Hooper, VanHouse, & Co.
M. Jacob Renick, M. J. Renick & Associates LLC
Warren Ruppel, Marks Paneth LLP
John S. Shillingsford, Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.
David G. Young, Young & Company CPAs, LLP
F. Michael Zovistoski, UHY LLP

Terms expiring in 2018:

Edward L. Arcara, Edward L. Arcara, CPA
Jack M. Carr, Bailey, Carr CPAs, PC
Elliot L. Hendler, Retired
Patricia A. Johnson, Canisius College
Barbara A. Marino, The Hackett Group, Inc.
Mitchell J. Mertz, Wei Wei & Co., LLP
Iralma Pozo, Baruch College
Steven A. Stanek, Daley LaCombe & Charette P.C.
Denise M. Stefano, Mercy College
Janeen F. Sutryk, Piaker & Lyons

Terms expiring in 2019:

Sol S. Basilyan, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Salvatore A. Collemi, Collemi Consulting & Advisory Services, LLC
Christopher G. Cahill, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Mitchell A. Davis, Grassi & Co.
Edward F. Esposito, Edward F. Esposito, CPA/ABV, CFE
Tracey J. Niemotko, Mount Saint Mary College
Kevin P. O’Leary, Marvin and Company
Renee Rampulla, Rampulla Advisory Services, LLC
Brian M. Reese, Fitzgerald, DePietro & Wojnas CPAs, P.C.
Michael M. Todres, Todres & Company, LLP

Respectfully submitted,

2015–2016 Nominating Committee:

J. Michael Kirkland - Chair
Frank J. Aquilino
Paul E. Becht
Barbara E. Bel
Shari E. Berk
Melissa L. Hicks
Edward N. Lee
Michele M. Levine
Barbara A. Marino
Thomas S. Pirro
Amanda L. Sexton

On behalf of the entire membership, I would like to thank the members of the Nominating Committee for their work in identifying candidates to serve. Vetting our future leadership is one of the most important tasks we undertake on an annual basis.

Independent nominations

According to Article X of the Society’s Bylaws, independent nominations for an officer or elected director may be made by a petition filed with the Secretary/Treasurer by March 1, 2016. (See These candidates are then added to the ballot, along with those individuals nominated by the Nominating Committee.

Pursuant to the Bylaws, any submitted petition for independent nominees requires at least 483 signatures of CPA members (2 percent of the CPA membership as of the beginning of the fiscal year, which totaled 24,169 this year), other than that of the nominee, and must certify that the nominee has consented to serve if elected. To be eligible for the position of a Society officer or director, a nominee must (i) be a CPA member of the NYSSCPA; (ii) have at least five years’ continuous membership in the Society; and (iii) have at least two years of participation either on a Society-level committee or as a member of the executive board of a chapter, or some combination of both. 

Independent nomination petition forms may be downloaded by clicking here and should be sent to the NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer as follows:

John J. Lauchert, CPA
NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer
14 Wall Street, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10005
Annual Election Meeting and Dinner: date and place
Based on the votes cast in the ballot, the officers and directors for 2016–2017 will be elected during the 119th Annual Election Meeting and Dinner on Thursday, May 19, at Pier Sixty the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers in New York City. Official notice of the meeting will be included in the March/April issue of The Trusted Professional.
Contact information
If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to contact me at, or NYSSCPA Public Affairs Manager Robert Busweiler at