Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Want to save this page for later?


Press Release

NYSSCPA’s Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards - Call for Submissions

Alonza Robertson
Published Date:
Dec 30, 2015

NEW YORK (Dec. 30, 2015) – The 33rd annual Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards (EFJ)—which honor the best in business news journalism—are calling for submissions.

Broadcast, print, radio and online news organizations and reporters can submit financial news stories that were published, posted or aired between Jan. 1, 2015 and Dec. 31, 2015. Business book authors and publishers can also enter the national contest.

The Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards ( are sponsored by the New York State Society of CPAs ( and are judged by a select panel of NYSSCPA members and others from the New York Financial Writers Association.

Awards will be given in 10 categories:

  • Commentary/Opinion
  • Investigative
  • Business Beat Reporting
  • Personal Finance
  • Explanatory
  • Independent or Affiliated Online Story–Large Media (circulation or daily online visitors of more than 200,000)
  • Independent or Affiliated Online Story–Medium to Small Media (circulation or daily online visitors of less than 200,000)
  • Radio/Online Digital Audio 
  • Television/Online Digital Video
  • Book

All entries must be received by 11 p.m., Feb. 22. Entry fees are $75 for the first submission and $50 for each subsequent entry. Enter by Jan. 15 and use coupon code “save16” to take 50 percent off your first submission.

The 2016 EFJ Awards luncheon will be held on May 9 in New York City.

Go to for more information, additional rules and to enter the contest.

For all other inquiries, please contact NYSSCPA Media Relations Manager Alonza Robertson at 212.719.8405 or email