Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Want to save this page for later?


Press Release

2022 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards Call for Submissions

Jovan C. Richards
Published Date:
Jan 11, 2022

2022 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards 

Call for Submissions 

NEW YORK – (Jan 11, 2022) - For more than 30 years, the New York State Society of CPAs (NYSSCPA) has recognized the best business and financial reporting through its Excellence in Financial Journalism (EFJ) Awards. 

All business and financial journalists, editors and authors are welcome to join the ranks of EFJ winners from national news outlets such as ProPublica, The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg and Crain’s New York Business, as well as local reporters from regional publications and organizations such as the Miami Herald and The Real Deal, by submitting their work to the 2021 NYSSCPA EFJ Awards. 

Broadcast, print, radio and online news organizations and reporters can submit financial news stories that were published, posted or aired between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2021. Business book authors and publishers can also enter this nationwide contest. Current college students are also eligible to apply in the NextGen category. 

The 2022 EFJ Awards consist of 13 awards in 10 distinct categories. Entries can be submitted for one or more of the awards, making sure that they conform to the topic and format. The categories are the following: 

  • Radio/Podcast 

  • Enterprise 

  • General Reporting 

  • Visual Design 

  • Local 

  • Opinion 

  • Public Service 

  • Video 

  • NextGen  

  • Excellence in Financial Journalism Book Award 

Each entry receives full consideration by a select panel of judges, composed of CPAs and financial journalists. All entries will be scored according to three parameters: Accuracy of Reporting; Readability, Clarity and Style; and Effectiveness and Impact. 

All entries must be received by 11:59 p.m. EST, April 1, 2022. Entry fees are $75 for the first submission and $50 for each subsequent entry from the same contestant. The NextGen Award initial entry fee is $20. Any additional NextGen submissions from the same contestant are $10. The annual EFJ Awards ceremony will be held in the summer of 2022. 

Go to for more information, additional rules and entry submission details. For all other inquiries, please contact NYSSCPA Government Relations and Media Manager Jovan Richards, at 212.719.8392 or send an email to