Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Official 2012–2013 Nominating Committee Report

January 18, 2013

The 2012–2013 Nominating Committee has submitted the following report:

OFFICERS: to hold office for one year, from June 1, 2013:

J. Michael Kirkland automatically succeeds Gail M. Kinsella as President in accordance with Article VIII, Paragraph 5 of the Bylaws.


Scott M. Adair

Monroe County Department of Finance

to succeed

J. Michael Kirkland

Deutsche Bank AG

Vice Presidents

Ian J. Benjamin
McGladrey LLP
to succeed Sherry L. DelleBovi
Lumsden & McCormick, LLP

Adrian P. Fitzsimons
St. John’s University

to succeed

David Evangelista
Moore Stephens, P.C.

Barbara A. Marino
The Hackett Group Inc. 

to succeed

Anthony J. Maltese
The Maltese CPA Firm PLLC 

Warren Ruppel
Marks Paneth & Shron LLP

to succeed

Suzanne M. Jensen
The Business Council of New York State, Inc.

F. Michael Zovistoski

to succeed

Scott M. Adair
Monroe County Department of Finance

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE: to hold office for three years, beginning, June 1, 2013:

Anthony S. Chan
UHY Advisors NY, Inc.
to succeed Robert W. Berliner
Marks Paneth & Shron LLP

Jack F. Craven
John F. Craven, CPA, LLC 

to succeed

Robert E. Sohr
Robert E. Sohr, CPA

Barbara L. Montour
Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe 
to succeed Stephen E. Franciosa
Stephen E. Franciosa, CPA

Stephen T. Surace
Adjusters International Inc.

to succeed

Pei-Cen Lin
Pei-Cen Consulting

Mark Weg
Daszkowski, Tompkins, 
Weg & Carbonella, P.C.

to succeed Rosemarie A. Giovinazzo-Barnickel 
Rosemarie Giovinazzo-Barnickel, CPA

DIRECTORS AS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES: to hold office for three years, from June 1, 2013:

Mid Hudson:
Tracy D. Tarsio
Day Seckler LLP
to succeed

Jennifer R. George
Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP 

No Selection
to succeed F. Michael Zovistoski


Mark Ulrich
St. John’s University

to succeed Adrian P. Fitzsimons
St. John’s University
Michael E. Milisits
The Hunter Group CPA LLC
to succeed Mitchell L. Gusler
Rifkin & Company, LLP
Scott D. Hosler
Bonadio & Co., LLP 
to succeed Robert R. Ritz
D’Arcangelo & Co., LLP

All of the nominees have consented to serve if elected.

Gail M. Kinsella automatically becomes Director for one year as Immediate Past President in accordance with Article VI, Paragraph 1, of the Bylaws.

DIRECTORS (provided the above nominees are duly elected)

Terms expiring in 2014:

Ian J. Benjamin, McGladrey LLP
Shari E. Berk, S.E. Berk & Associates P.A.
Domenick J. Esposito, J.H. Cohn LLP
Adrian P. Fitzsimons, St. John’s University
Timothy P. Hedley, KPMG LLP
Douglas L. Hoffman, Dragon Benware Crowley & Co., P.C.
Gail M. Kinsella, Testone, Marshall  & Discenza, LLP
Eric M. Kramer, Farrell Fritz, P.C.
Elliot A. Lesser, Berdon LLP
Barbara A. Marino, The Hackett Group Inc.
Steven M. Morse, Rochester Institute of Technology
Michael F. Rosenblatt, The Quest Organization
Warren Ruppel, Marks Paneth & Shron LLP
Cynthia A. Scarinci, College of Staten Island (CUNY)
John Shillingsford, Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.
F. Michael Zovistoski, UHY LLP

Terms expiring in 2015:

Anthony T. Abboud, Firley, Moran, Freer & Eassa, P.C.
William Aiken, Retired
Gregory J. Altman, Somerset Capital Partners
Barbara E. Bel, O’Connor Davies Munns & Dobbins, LLP
Christopher G. Cahill, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Harold L. Deiters, Holtz Rubenstein Reminick LLP
Scott M. Hotalen, Vieira & Associates, CPAs, P.C.
J. Michael Kirkland, Deutsche Bank AG
Arthur J. Roth, Retired
Yen D. Tran, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Richard T. Van Osten, Ernst & Young LLP

Terms expiring in 2016:

Scott M. Adair, Monroe County Department of Finance
Anthony S. Chan, UHY Advisors NY, Inc.
Jack F. Craven, John F. Craven, CPA, LLC 
Scott D. Hosler, Bonadio & Co., LLP
Michael E. Milisits, Hunter Group CPA LLC
Barbara L. Montour, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe
Stephen T. Surace, Adjusters International, Inc.
Tracy D. Tarsio, Day Seckler LLP
Mark Ulrich, St. John’s University
Mark Weg, Daszkowski, Tompkins & Weg, P.C.
Richard T. Van Osten, Ernst & Young LLP

Respectfully submitted,

20122013 Nominating Committee 

  • David J. Moynihan, Chair
  • Frank J. Aquilino
  • Susan M. Barossi
  • John B. Huttlinger, Jr.
  • Michele Mark Levine
  • Anthony J. Maltese
  • Thomas E. Riley
  • Erin Scanlon
  • Robert E. Sohr
  • Edward J. Torres
  • Thomas D. Weddell

The 2012–2013 NYSSCPA Nominating Committee met on Jan. 10 to decide its nominations for Society officers for the 2013–2014 fiscal year and for NYSSCPA Board of Directors members, with terms beginning June 1, 2013. (The formal report is reprinted in the February issue of The Trusted Professional on page 3, and the service record of all nominees are reprinted on pages 4 and 5.)  

In accordance with the Society’s Bylaws, the nominating committee report was emailed to Society members—who provided email addresses to the Society—by Feb. 3, and was posted to the nomination center on the Society’s website on or before Feb. 1. The nomination center is located at

On behalf of the entire membership, I would like to thank the members of the Nominating Committee for their work in identifying candidates to serve. Vetting our future leadership is one of the most important tasks we undertake on a yearly basis.

A ballot listing the nominees with their service records will be sent to the Society’s voting membership before the Society’s Annual Election Meeting and Dinner, to be held on May 16, 2013. Any independent nominees submitted by March 1, as discussed below, will be included in the proxy ballot. I urge all members to carefully examine the ballot information and vote.

Independent nominations
According to Article X of the Society’s Bylaws, independent nominations for an officer or elected director may be made by a petition filed with the Secretary/Treasurer by March 1. (See These candidates are then added to the ballot, along with those individuals nominated by the nominating committee.

Pursuant to the Bylaws, any submitted petition for independent nominees requires at least 510 signatures of CPA members (2 percent of the CPA membership as of the beginning of the fiscal year, which totaled 25,497 this year), other than that of the nominee, and must certify that the nominee has consented to serve if elected. To be eligible for the position of a Society officer or director, a nominee must (i) be a CPA member of the NYSSCPA; (ii) have at least five years’ continuous membership in the Society; and (iii) have at least two years of participation either on a Society-level committee or as a member of the executive board of a chapter, or some combination of both. 

Independent nomination petition forms may be downloaded by clicking here and should be sent to the NYSSCPA Secretary as follows: 

Scott M. Adair, CPA
NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer
3 Park Avenue, 18th Floor
New York, NY 10016

Annual Election Meeting and Dinner: date and place

Based on the votes cast in the ballot, the officers and directors for 2013–2014 will be elected during the 116th Annual Election Meeting and Dinner on Thursday, May 16, at the Marriott Marquis at Times Square in New York City. Official notice of the meeting will be included in the April issue of The Trusted Professional.

Contact information

If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to contact me, or the Society’s Counsel Bradley M. Pryba, at

NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer Scott M. Adair, CPA, can be reached