Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Official 2011–2012 Nominating Committee Report

January 20, 2012

The 2011–2012 Nominating Committee has submitted the following report:

OFFICERS: to hold office for one year, from June 1, 2012:

Gail M. Kinsella automatically succeeds Richard E. Piluso as President in accordance with Article VIII, Paragraph 5, of the Bylaws.

J. Michael Kirkland
Deutsche Bank AG
to succeed Gail M. Kinsella
Testone, Marshall & Discenza, LLP
Vice Presidents
Sherry L. DelleBovi
Lumsden & McCormick, LLP
to succeed Anthony Cassella
J. Queen New York, Inc.

David Evangelista
MSPC Certified Public Accountants & Advisors, P.C.

to succeed Neville Grusd
Merchant Financial Corporation

Suzanne M. Jensen
The Business Council of New York State, Inc.

to succeed J. Michael Kirkland
Deutsche Bank AG

Anthony J. Maltese
The Maltese CPA Firm PLLC 

to succeed

Ita M. Rahilly
Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP


Scott M. Adair
Monroe County Department of Finance 

to succeed

Scott M. Adair
Monroe County Department of Finance

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE: to hold office for three years, beginning, June 1, 2012:

Christopher G. Cahill
Deloitte & Touche LLP
to succeed Ian J. Benjamin
McGladrey & Pullen LLP
Harold L. Deiters
Holtz Rubenstein Reminick LLP
to succeed

Michele Mark Levine
The City of New York Office of 
Management and Budget

Arthur J. Roth
to succeed Anthony J. Maltese
The Maltese CPA Firm PLLC

Yen D. Tran
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

to succeed Erin Scanlon
Deloitte & Touche LLP 

Richard T. Van Osten
Ernst & Young LLP

to succeed

George I. Victor
Giambalvo, Stalzer & Company, CPAs, P.C.

DIRECTORS AS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES: to hold office for three years, from June 1, 2012:

Gregory J. Altman
Somerset Capital Partners
to succeed

Sherry L. DelleBovi
Lumsden & McCormick, LLP

William Aiken
to succeed Barbara A. Marino
The Hackett Group

Southern Tier:

Scott M. Hotalen
Vieira & Associates, CPAs, P.C.
to succeed Jesse J. Wheeler
Davidson Fox & Company, LLP
Anthony T. Abboud
Firley, Moran, Freer & Eassa, P.C.
to succeed Heather Losi
Losi & Ranger CPAs, PLLC
Barbara E. Bel
O'Connor Davies Munns & Dobbins, LLP
to succeed Mark G. Leeds
Win Properties Inc.

All of the nominees have consented to serve if elected.

Richard E. Piluso automatically becomes Director for one year as Immediate Past President in accordance with Article VI, Paragraph 1, of the Bylaws.

DIRECTORS (provided the above nominees are duly elected)

Terms expiring in 2013:
Scott M. Adair, Monroe County Department of Finance
Robert W. Berliner, Marks Paneth & Shron LLP
Sherry L. DelleBovi, Lumsden & McCormick, LLP
David Evangelista, MSPC Certified Public Accountants & Advisors, P.C.
Adrian P. Fitzsimons, St. John’s University
Stephen E. Franciosa, Stephen E. Franciosa, CPA
Jennifer R. George, Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP
Rosemarie A. Giovinazzo-Barnickel, Rosemarie Giovinazzo-Barnickel, CPA
Mitchell L. Gusler, Rifkin & Company, LLP
Suzanne M. Jensen, The Business Council of New York State, Inc. 
Pei-Cen Lin 
Anthony J. Maltese, The Maltese CPA Firm PLLC 
Richard E. Piluso, Retired
Robert R. Ritz, D’Arcangelo & Co., LLP
Robert E. Sohr, Retired
F. Michael Zovistoski, UHY LLP

Terms expiring in 2014:
Shari E. Berk, S.E. Berk & Associates P.A.
Domenick J. Esposito, J.H. Cohn LLP
Timothy P. Hedley, KPMG LLP
Douglas L. Hoffman, Dragon Benware Crowley & Co., P.C.
Gail M. Kinsella, Testone, Marshall  & Discenza, LLP
Eric M. Kramer, Farrell Fritz, P.C.
Elliot A. Lesser, Berdon LLP
Steven M. Morse, Rochester Institute of Technology
Michael F. Rosenblatt, The Quest Organization
Cynthia A. Scarinci, College of Staten Island (CUNY)
John Shillingsford, Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.

Terms expiring in 2015:
Anthony T. Abboud, Firley, Moran, Freer & Eassa, P.C.
William Aiken, Retired 
Gregory J. Altman, Somerset Capital Partners 
Barbara E. Bel, O'Connor Davies Munns & Dobbins, LLP 
Christopher G. Cahill, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Harold L. Deiters, Holtz Rubenstein Reminick LLP
Scott M. Hotalen, Vieira & Associates, CPAs, P.C.
J. Michael Kirkland, Deutsche Bank AG 
Arthur J. Roth, Retired
Yen D. Tran, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Richard T. Van Osten, Ernst & Young LLP

Respectfully submitted,

20112012 Nominating Committee

  • Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., Chair
  • Cynthia D. Barry
  • Ian J. Benjamin
  • Stewart Berger
  • Kenneth K. Chan
  • Barry F. Doll
  • Kenneth J. Gralak
  • Stephen F. Langowski
  • Barbara A. Marino
  • Rita M. Piazza
  • Charles J. Weintraub

The Nominating Committee’s official report will be reprinted in the February issue of The Trusted Professional.  In addition, a detail of committee and chapter service by each nominee will be posted to the Society website, printed in the February issue of The Trusted Professional and accompany the proxy ballot to be sent to the membership before the Annual Election Dinner.  Any additional nominees submitted by close of business March 1 as discussed below, will be included in the proxy ballot.

Independent Nominations

According to Article X of the Society’s bylaws, independent nominations for an officer or elected director may be made by petition filed with the secretary by close of business March 1, 2012

Any petition submitting names of additional nominees requires signatures of at least 511 CPA members (2% of the CPA membership as of the beginning of the fiscal year, which this year totaled 25,546), other than that of the nominee, and must certify that the nominee has consented to serve if elected. To be eligible for the position of a Society officer or director, a nominee must (i) be a CPA member; (ii) have at least five years’continuous membership in the Society; and (iii) have at least two years of participation either on a Society-level committee, or as a member of the board of a chapter, or some combination of both.

Independent nomination petition forms may be downloaded by clicking here and should be sent to the NYSSCPA Secretary as follows:

Scott M. Adair, CPA
NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer
3 Park Avenue, 18th Floor
New York, NY 10016

Petitions must be received by close of business March 1.

Date and Location of Annual Election Dinner

The officers and directors for 2012-2013 will be elected during the 115th Annual Election Meeting Dinner on Thursday, May 10, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.  Official notice of the meeting will be included in the April issue of The Trusted Professional.

Contact Information

If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to contact the NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer Scott M. Adair at or the Society's associate counsel, Bradley M. Pryba, at