Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Official 2010–2011 Nominating Committee Report

January 19, 2011

The 2010–2011 Nominating Committee has submitted the following report:

OFFICERS: to hold office for one year, from June 1, 2011:


Richard E. Piluso, Retired, automatically succeeds Margaret A. Wood, Grant Thornton LLP, as President in accordance with Article VIII, Paragraph 5, of the Bylaws.

Gail M. Kinsella
Testone, Marshall & Discenza, LLP
to succeed Richard E. Piluso
Vice Presidents
Anthony Cassella
J. Queen New York Inc.
to succeed Scott M. Adair
Monroe County Department of Finance

Neville Grusd
Merchant Financial Corporation

to succeed David R. Herman
David R. Herman, CPA

J. Michael Kirkland
Deutsche Bank AG

to succeed Martha A. Jaeckle
Jaeckle Kearney & Lepselter

Ita M. Rahilly
Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP 

to succeed

Gail M. Kinsella
Testone, Marshall & Discenza, LLP


Scott M. Adair
Monroe County Department of Finance 

to succeed

Joseph M. Falbo, Jr.
Tronconi Segarra & Associates LLP

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE: to hold office for three years, beginning, June 1, 2011, except as noted below:

Shari E. Berk
S.E. Berk & Associates P.A.
to succeed S. David Belsky
S.D. Belsky & Associates CPAs
Domenick J. Esposito
J.H. Cohn LLP
to succeed

Anthony Cassella
J. Queen New York Inc.

Timothy P. Hedley
to succeed J. Michael Kirkland
Deutsche Bank AG

Michele Mark Levine
The City of New York Office of 
Management and Budget

to succeed Herself
[Ms. Levine was elected by the Board of Directors on Sept. 16, 2010 to fill the vacancy in the term of Robert Kawa, which officially ends on May 31, 2012.] 

Elliot A. Lesser
Berdon LLP

to succeed

Avery E. Neumark
Rosen Seymour Shapss Martin & Company LLP

Michael F. Rosenblatt
The Quest Organization

to succeed

Joel C. Quall
Knight Capital Group, Inc.

DIRECTORS AS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES: to hold office for three years, from June 1, 2011:

Douglas L. Hoffman
Dragon Benware Crowley & Co., P.C.
to succeed

John B. Huttlinger, Jr.
Adirondack Audit Company, Inc.

Eric M. Kramer
Farrell Fritz, P.C.
to succeed John Barone
WeiserMazars LLP


Steven M. Morse
Rochester Institute of Technology
to succeed Nancy A. Kirby
Action for a Better Community, Inc.
Staten Island:
Cynthia A. Scarinci
College of Staten Island (CUNY)
to succeed Charles J. Weintraub
Miller’s Launch
John Shillingsford
Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.
to succeed Cynthia D. Barry
Sheehan & Company

All of the nominees have consented to serve if elected.

Margaret A. Wood automatically becomes Director for one year as Immediate Past President in accordance with Article VI, Paragraph 1, of the Bylaws.

DIRECTORS (provided the above nominees are duly elected)

Terms expiring in 2012:
Scott M. Adair, Monroe County Department of Finance
Ian J. Benjamin, McGladrey & Pullen, LLP
Anthony Cassella, J. Queen New York Inc.
Sherry L. DelleBovi, Lumsden & McCormick, LLP
Neville Grusd, Merchant Financial Corporation
J. Michael Kirkland, Deutsche Bank AG
Mark G. Leeds, Win Properties Inc.
Michele Mark Levine, The City of New York Office of Management and Budget
Heather Losi, Losi & Ranger CPAs, PLLC
Anthony J. Maltese, The Maltese CPA Firm, PLLC
Barbara A. Marino, The Hackett Group
Ita M. Rahilly, Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP
Erin Scanlon, Deloitte & Touche LLP
George I. Victor, Giambalvo Giammarese & Stalzer CPAs, P.C.
Jesse J. Wheeler, Davidson Fox & Company, LLP
Margaret A. Wood, Grant Thornton LLP

Terms expiring in 2013:
Robert W. Berliner, Marks Paneth & Shron LLP
Stephen E. Franciosa, Stephen E. Franciosa, CPA
Adrian P. Fitzsimons, St. John’s University
Jennifer R. George, Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell, LLP
Rosemarie A. Giovinazzo-Barnickel, Rosemarie Giovinazzo-Barnickel, CPA
Mitchell L. Gusler, Rifkin & Company, LLP
Pei-Cen Lin 
Richard E. Piluso, Retired
Robert R. Ritz, D’Arcangelo & Co., LLP
Robert E. Sohr, Retired
F. Michael Zovistoski, UHY LLP

Terms expiring in 2014:
Shari E. Berk, S.E. Berk & Associates P.A.
Domenick J. Esposito, J.H. Cohn LLP
Timothy P. Hedley, KPMG LLP
Douglas L. Hoffman, Dragon Benware Crowley & Co., P.C.
Gail M. Kinsella, Testone, Marshall & Discenza, LLP
Eric M. Kramer, Farrell Fritz, P.C.
Elliot A. Lesser, Berdon LLP
Steven M. Morse, Rochester Institute of Technology
Michael F. Rosenblatt, The Quest Organization
Cynthia A. Scarinci, College of Staten Island (CUNY)
John Shillingsford, Albrecht, Viggiano, Zureck & Company, P.C.

Respectfully submitted,

20102011 Nominating Committee

David A. Lifson, Chair
Jeffrey Abramczyk
Sherry L. DelleBovi
Mark Ellis
Elliot L. Hendler 
David R. Herman
Mark R. Levy
Gerard J. LoVerde
Mark L. Meinberg
James F. Passikoff 
Thomas C. Zuber

The Nominating Committee’s official report was reprinted in the Feb. 15 issue of The Trusted Professional. In addition, a detail of committee and chapter service by each nominee was posted to the Society website, was printed in the Feb. 15 issue of The Trusted Professional and will accompany the proxy ballot to be sent to the membership before the Annual Election Dinner on May 19, 2011. Any additional nominees submitted by close of business March 1, 2011 as discussed below, will be included in the proxy ballot.

Independent Nominations

According to Article X of the Society’s bylaws, independent nominations for an officer or elected director may be made by petition filed with the secretary by close of business March 1, 2011.

Any petition submitting names of additional nominees requires signatures of at least 506 CPA members (2% of the CPA membership as of the beginning of the fiscal year, which this year totaled 25,304), other than that of the nominee, and must certify that the nominee has consented to serve if elected. To be eligible for the position of a Society officer or director, a nominee must (i) be a CPA member; (ii) have at least five years’ continuous membership in the Society; and (iii) have at least two years of participation, either on a Society-level committee or as a member of the board of a chapter, or some combination of both.

Independent nomination petition forms may be downloaded by clicking here and should be sent to the NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer as follows:

Joseph M. Falbo, Jr., CPA
NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer
3 Park Avenue, 18th Floor
New York, NY 10016

Petitions must be received by close of business March 1, 2011.

Date and Location of Annual Election Dinner

The officers and directors for 20112012 will be elected during the 114th Annual Election Meeting Dinner on Thursday, May 19, 2011 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Official notice of the meeting was included in the April 1 issue of The Trusted Professional.

Contact Information

If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to contact the NYSSCPA Secretary/Treasurer Joseph M. Falbo, Jr. at or the Society's associate counsel, Bradley M. Pryba, at