Attention FAE Customers:
Please be aware that NASBA credits are awarded based on whether the events are webcast or in-person, as well as on the number of CPE credits.
Please check the event registration page to see if NASBA credits are being awarded for the programs you select.

Official 2003–2004 Nominating Committee Report

This is the official report of the NYSSCPA Nominating Committee, which sets forth the committee’s nominations for the 2003-2004 Society officers and directors. The committee presented nominations for president-elect, four vice presidents, the secretary, the treasurer, five at-large directors and six directors to represent Society chapters. A member proxy/ballot pertaining to the election of the 2003-2004 officers will be included with CPA members’ issue of the March Trusted Professional. The annual election of the members will occur on May 15.


The Nominating Committee, elected in accordance with Article IX of the bylaws, is pleased to enter the following nominations for Officers and Directors:

OFFICERS - to hold office for one year from June 1, 2003:

Jeffrey R. Hoops, Ernst & Young, LLP, automatically succeeds Jo Ann Golden, Dermody, Burke & Brown, as President in accordance with Article VIII, Paragraph 5, of the Bylaws.

John J. Kearney     
Israeloff Trattner & Company, CPAs, P.C.

to succeed Jeffrey R. Hoops
Ernst & Young, LLP 
Vice Presidents
Vincent J. Love
Kramer, Love & Cutler, LLP       
to succeed Laurence Keiser
Stern Keiser Panken & Wohl, LLP
Sandra A. Napoleon-Hudson       
Steinfink Napoleon & DiBenedetto, LLP 
to succeed Stephen F. Langowski
Raymond M. Nowicki
Nowicki & Company, LLP   
to succeed Carol C. Lapidus
American Express Tax and Business Services, Inc.  
Steven Rubin
Deloitte & Touche, LLP   
to succeed Ian M. Nelson
Own Account
Thomas E. Riley
The Fagliarone Group, CPAs, P.C.
to succeed Himself
Arthur Bloom
Marks Paneth & Shron, LLP
to succeed Frank J. Aquilino
Montclair State University

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE -- to hold office for three years from June 1, 2003

Michelle A. Cohen
Rotenberg & Company, LLP

to succeed

Arthur Bloom
Marks Paneth & Shron, LLP

Mark Ellis
Michael C. Fina Company     
to succeed Franklin H. Federmann
Own Account
Raymond P. Jones
Watson Rice, LLP          
to succeed Vincent J. Love
Kramer Love & Cutler, LLP       
Richard E. Piluso
Loews Corporation     
to succeed Edward J. Torres
Own Account
Robert N. Waxman
Own Account 
to succeed Beth Van Bladel
Selkirk Cogen Partners, LP

DIRECTORS AS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES -- to hold office for three years from June 1, 2003

Ann Burstein. Cohen
S.U.N.Y. at Buffalo

to succeed

Raymond M. Nowicki
Nowicki & Company, LLP

Central Southern Tier
Nancy A. Kirby
Kirby Beals Maier CPAs, PLLC
to succeed Herself
William Aiken
Own Account
to succeed Himself
Southern Tier
Philip G. Westcott
Johnson Lauder & Savidge, LLP
to succeed Angelo J. Gallo
Piaker & Lyons, P.C
David J. Moynihan
Testone Marshall & Discenza, LLP
to succeed Andrew M. Eassa
Firley Moran Freer & Eassa CPAs, P.C.
Robert L. Ecker
Ecker Loehr Ecker & Ecker, LLP
to succeed Sandra A. Napoleon-Hudson
Steinfink Napoleon & DiBenedetto, LLP

All of the nominees have consented to serve if elected.

Jo Ann Golden, Dermody Burke & Brown, P.C., retiring President, automatically becomes Director for one year, replacing Nancy Newman-Limata, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, in accordance with Article VI, Paragraph 1, of the Bylaws.

Terms expiring in 2004:

Rosemarie A. Barnickel, Trochiano & Daszkowski, LLP
Peter L. Berlant, Anchin, Block & Anchin, LLP
Arthur Bloom, Marks Paneth & Shron, LLP
Michael J. DePietro, Rinehard & Fitzgerald & DePietro, P.C.
Katharine K. Doran, Teal Becker & Chiaramonte CPAs, P.C.
David Evangelista, Korn, Rosenbaum, Phillips & Jauntig, LLP
Peter H. Frank, Cornick, Garber & Sandler, LLP
Jo Ann Golden, Dermody, Burke & Brown, P.C.
Vincent J. Love, Kramer Love & Cutler, LLP
Sandra A. Napoleon-Hudson, Steinfink Napoleon & DiBenedetto, LLP
Raymond M. Nowicki, Nowicki & Company, LLP
Kevin J. O’Connor, Own Account
Mark A. Plostock, Own Account
Thomas E. Riley, The Fagliarone Group, P.C.
Steve Rubin, Deloitte & Touche, LLP
Robert A. Sypolt, Own Account
Howard D. Weiner, Holtz Rubenstein & Co., LLP

Terms expiring in 2005:

Spencer L. Barback, Barback Uliano & Company, P.C.
Michael G. Baritot, KPMG, LLP
Andrew Cohen, Weiser, LLP
Walter Daszkowski, Trochiano & Daszkowski, LLP
Barbara S. Dwyer, Own Account
Neville Grusd, Merchant Financial Corporation
David W. Henion, Forte Capital, LLC
Jeffrey R. Hoops, Ernst & Young, LLP
Robert S. Peare, Peare & Heller, CPAs, P.C.
Joseph J. Schlegel, Fust Charles Chambers, LLP
Robert E. Sohr, Deloitte & Touche, LLP
Philip Wolitzer, Long Island University

Terms expiring in 2006:

William Aiken, Own Account
Ann Burstein. Cohen, S.U.N.Y. at Buffalo
Michelle A. Cohen, Rotenberg & Company, LLP
Robert L. Ecker, Ecker Loehr Ecker & Ecker, LLP
Mark Ellis, Michael C. Fina Company
Raymond P. Jones, Watson Rice, LLP
John J. Kearney, Israeloff Trattner & Company, CPAs, LLP
Nancy A. Kirby, Kirby Beals Maier CPAs, LLC
David J. Moynihan, Testone Marshall & Discenza, LLP
Richard E. Piluso, Loews Corporation
Robert N. Waxman, Own Account
Philip G. Westcott, Johnson Lauder & Savidge, LLP

Respectfully submitted,

Stuart Kessler, Chair
Michael L. Borsuk
Brian A. Caswell
Debra A. Cutler
Katharine K. Doran
Neville Grusd
Elliot L. Hendler
Barry B. Seidel
P. Gerard Sokolski